Roman Emperors: The Flavian Dynasty

Roman Emperors: The Flavian Dynasty

The Colosseum was known as the Flavian Amphitheatre

Following the fall of the Julio-Claudian Dynasty, Rome underwent its first Civil War since the defeat of Mark Antony in 30 BC; this time was known as the Year of Four Emperors as the year 69 AD saw, well, four emperors starting with Galba (June 68 – January 69) then Otho (January to April) then Vitellius (April to December) then finally Vespasian (December 69 –  June79). Vespasian established the Flavian dynasty which ruled for approximately 28 years (69 to 96 AD), and it was during this regime that the iconic Colosseum was built, which was then known as the Flavian Amphitheatre.  These emperors are listed below:

  • Vespasian (69 – 79)
  • Titus (79 – 81) – son of Vespasian and the first Emperor to succeed his biological father
  • Domitian (81 – 96) – brother to Titus. His assassination brought the end of the Flavian Dynasty.








You need to login or register to bookmark/favorite this content.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *