Roman Emperors: The Julio-Claudian Dynasty

Roman Emperors: The Julio-Claudian Dynasty

p style=”text-align: center;”>Emperor Augustus, Rome’s First Emperor

The Julio-Claudian Dynasty was comprised of Rome’s first five emperors who ruled from the founding of the Roman Empire in 27 BC through 68 AD. The dynasty’s name is derived from “Julius” & “Claudius,” two Roman family names from which the line was descended.  The line of succession was never passed down directly from father to son by blood, although all four emperors had close blood relations. These first five emperors are listed below.

  1. Augustus – adopted son of Julius Caesar who ruled from 27 BC to 14 AD; of Julian descent.
  2. Tiberius – adopted son of Augustus (he was actually the son of Augustus’ wife Livia from her first husband), who ruled from 14 to 37 AD; of Julian descent.
  3. Caligula – great-grandson of Augustus who ruled from 37 to 41 AD. His father Germanicus, who was of both Julian & Claudian descent, was adopted by Tiberius. He’s technically the first emperor with ancestry of both families.
  4. Claudius – uncle of Caligula who ruled from 41 to 54 AD; Claudian through this father and Julian through his mother.
  5. Nero – direct descendant of Augustus through his mother, Agrippina the Younger (great-granddaughter of Augustus) as well as the great nephew and adopted son of Claudius. Agrippina was also sister of Caligula and niece and fourth-wife of Claudius. Nero ruled from 54 AD to 68 AD; his reign ended with his suicide after which the dynasty collapsed, giving way to the chaotic year of the emperors.





You need to login or register to bookmark/favorite this content.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *